New Supreme Court Justices


The Judicial Service Commission at its meeting of 4 August 2021 confirmed the appointment of the following High Court Judges of New Zealand as Acting Judges of the Supreme Court of Samoa for a period of 2 years: 

1. Justice Robert Fisher

2. Justice Peter Blanchard

3. Justice Rhys Harrison

4. Justice Rodney Hansen

5. Justice Raynor Asher

On Wednesday, 11 August 2021 @ 11am, the above judges were sworn-in by His Highness the Head of State, Afioga Tuimalealiifano Vaaletoa Sualauvi 11 during a ceremony via Video link held at the Head of State’s Official Residence at Vailele. The ceremony was attended by His Honourable Chief Justice Perese, Justice Nelson and Justice Roma.

The sworn judges are esteemed retired High Court Judges of New Zealand with relevant experience and knowledge to assist our local Bench. Their appointments are made to assist with the upcoming hearing of contempt cases before the Court and appeal cases before the Court of Appeal. The external oversight of judgment on these matters is paramount and it won’t be appropriate for local judges to deal with them.

These appointments are made pursuant to Article 69 of the Constitution.

Moliei Simi Vaai

Secretary of Judicial Service Commission